The The Temple of Edfu was built in 237-57 BC, during the Ptolemaic period. It is dedicated to the god Horus, often depicted as a falcon. The temple is built of sandstone. It is 36 m high, 79 m wide and 36 m long. The The Temple of Edfu was discovered only in 1798 by a French expedition. Because it had all been covered with sand, the survey started in 1860. The research was led by the French Egyptologist Auguste Mariette.
The The Temple of Edfu has been opened since 2005. An information centre and a parking place were built here. In 2006, the temple was lightened for night tours. Visitors can see the inscriptions on the walls showing the language and the religion of the Greco-Roman period. They can also see the inscriptions documenting the progress of the building's construction. They can further view the statue of the god Horus standing in the courtyard. There are two pillared halls from where you can enter the centre of the The Temple of Edfu . Here they will find the holiest shrine and a chamber with a wooden boat of God next to it.