|Blansko new castle||Castles||9km|
The exhibition of the castle shows furnished rooms of the Salm family - the owners of the castle, as well as a collection of oriental porcelain, a castle gallery and a library. Approximately 60 000 books have found their place in the library. A large English park spreads around the castle.
There were two fortresses standing at the place of the current castle during the Middle Ages. In the 14th century they were destroyed, one of the fortresses was reconstructed, and later it was rebuilt into a Renaissance chateau by the Drnovský family of Drnovice. However the family died by the sword, and Rajec nad Svitavou Castle had been owned by Johanna Drnovská until 1663. Then the castle became the property of the Roggendorfs. In 1763, it was bought by the family of Salm-Reifferscheidt. By that time, Rajec nad Svitavou Castle was in ruins, since in 1757 it had completely burned down.Therefore the Salms built a new castle in rococo - classicist style. Rajec nad Svitavou Castle became a unique example of its style in Moravia. The Salms owned the castle until 1945, when it was confiscated following the Beneš decrees.
Rajec nad Svitavou Castle offers two sightseeing circuits. The small circuit, introducing the ground floor, is accessible also for the disabled. The big circuit shows the ground floor, the first floor and the chapel. Rajec nad Svitavou Castle also holds weddings, exhibitions of flowers and night tours.