Klatovy Catacombs were established during the construction of the church of the Immaculate Conception between 1656 and 1675. Burials were held there from 1676 until 1784, when Emperor Joseph II forbade burials in churches. There were over 200 people buried at this site. In 1937, the church roof was reconstructed and the church unique ventilation system was disrupted. The majority of the bodies were damaged and had to be buried. At present, 38 bodies are in the catacombs.
In the Klatovy Catacombs, a unique method of mummification had been applied. The bodies were placed on the surface of hops, which had antiseptic effects. The bodies were then blown with dry air. The mummies weigh about 8-10 kg. Visitors can see 30 bodies in coffins with glass lids. The other bodies are not accessible.
Opening hours: April and October - only weekends and holidays: 9.00 - 12.00, 13.00 - 17.00 ; May to September, daily 9.00 - 12.00, 13.00 - 17.00.